RSS Feed

Homemade Almond Butter

Camera cord found yay, now on to more important things- food 🙂

Today I had a craving for some almond butter on toast and since I didnt have any theres was nothing to do but make it.
I used raw almonds because thats what I had on hand the first time I made almond butter so it’s what I keep buying. I get bulk nuts from Meijer.

 I dont have an actual recipe, I skimmed someones blog once to learn how to do (my apologies but I just cant remember who you are). I started out by toasting the almonds.

ready for toasting

Once they were toasted I threw them in my food processor, I dont have a picture of them preground because I was on the phone with my Mom and I forgot to take one 🙂

I have to keep stopping the food processor to scrape the nuts back down into the bowel.

starting to look buttery

At some point when it’s pretty close to being done I add sugar. I added about two teaspoons but you can add more or less depending on your tastes and process some more.

Mmm

I decided to try chocolate almond butter so I took out most of the plain almond butter and added some more sugar (one tsp maybe I didnt measure) and some cocoa powder two tsp. to start, then another one and some sugar because I didnt think it was chocolaty enough.

Still not as chocolaty as I’d like it but I didn’t want it to be too bitter from the cocoa powder and I didn’t want to put a ton of sugar in it.  So I left it alone, I’ll experiment more next time.

side by side

Time for second breakfast!

Yes, we already had one, but we need another

I made toast with some Ezekiel 4.9 sesame bread ( the verdict is still out on the bread) and put one of each kind of butter on the toast with some sliced strawberries. I like almond butter but I’m still trying to sell my kids on it. I’m not worried it wont be long before we are all full fledged foodies  🙂

About withasideofbrownies

My name is Annette, I'm a married mom of four. I'm doing my best to learn to live and eat healthier and teach my family at the same time.

One response »

  1. I like your post, Annette! I’ve been tempted to try making almond butter, too, as I have trouble digesting peanut butter. It looks yummy, so I just might try it soon!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

