Meatless Monday (late as usual) and Quick Veggie soup recipe

This past Monday I declared it our first Meatless Monday to which Picky JR declared it was a stupid idea. (this from the kid who lives on fruit and pb&j’s)  So after getting some ideas from friends I finally chose a recipe from http://www.runeatrepeat.com. It was a 3 layer dip and you can find the recipe on Monicas site. (still trying to figure out this blogging thing).

Finished product

Vicky and Cedric ate it (Cedric had seconds) , but Wyatt and Damian wouldnt touch it. After Damian said once again Meatless Monday was stupid he requested a grilled cheese sandwich 🙂 meatless, Mom wins again!
Surprisingly after putting the casserole together I came to realize that even though it was meatless it wasnt exactly healthy, it tasted really good, but later that night I had heartburn which I’ve been having a lot lately which bummes me out because I stopped having it once I started losing weight.
Yesterday morning when I got up I decided to weigh in with our Wii Fit and was not happy with the results. I’ve gained back ten pounds these past couple of months. Not happy at all. I knew my clothes were fitting a little tight but I didnt realize I was doing so badly. No worries, I started tracking my food I watched my portions and made sure I went to the gym last night. Yesterday was also meatless all day for me. Once the kids are at school I cant control what they eat (or how much). I dont think any of us in my family would be happy if we were meatless all the time but I think it’s goo for us to do once or twice a week.
Last night for dinner I had a smoothie because I think it settles well on my stomach and i was going to the gym after supper.

Into the blender I tossed:
strawberries
bananas
chocolate protein powder
peanutbutter
Chobani plain greek yogurt
ice and a bit of milk
I put Cascadian Farms dark chocolate granola on top.
I was late getting to the gym so I didnt join the Kickboxing class this week, mainly because my daughter went with me for the first time and I didnt want to leave her alone (nor did she)
I did all the usual strength training machines and 10 mis on the bike 1 min on the Eliptical (just wasnt into it) and 10 min on the Treadmill I ran a bit on the treadmill but I was afraid I’d fall and crack my head open so I mostly walked.
Todays workout consisted of 15 minutes if Arobic exercise with my Wii Active game before I got a call saying I was getting some company today so than I was able to log 60 minutes of heavy cleaning 🙂 I love that heavy cleaning is an option.
Lunch today was a Morning Star Spicy Black Bean burger (I forgot to take a picture) and alittle bowl of my homemade veggie soup

Starring these guys

Into the pot:
3 cans of broth (chicken or vegetable)
water about a cup (optional)
mini bowtie pasta with vegetable blend frozen ( I use Schwans)
pinto beans drained and rinsed
Newmans Own Sockarooni pasta sauce
minced garlic
salt pepper chile powder to taste
Pour broth in large saucepan add veggies. Stir in garlic and spices. Add pinto beans and pasta sauce. Add water if it’s not “soupy” enough for you. Add more spices to taste if desired heat through.

Wasnt that easy hope you like it. Bye.

Edit on Dec. 2, 2011

The recipe for the three layer casserole can be found here

About withasideofbrownies

My name is Annette, I'm a married mom of four. I'm doing my best to learn to live and eat healthier and teach my family at the same time.

Leave a comment