RSS Feed

Weekend fun

I want to start out by saying Happy late Mothers Day to all the moms out there, I hope everyone had a good weekend. I had a wonderful weekend spending time with family and friends. I didnt get any pictures of Friday night, but we had a few friends over for a fire in the back yard and that started my weekend of over indulgence :p chips and smores and my frend Sara made carmel popcorn, yummy.

Saturday I started out eating well, I made a smoothie bowl

The smoothie included strawberries, bananas, greek yogurt, milk, and chocolate protein powder. I topped it with Chia seeds and Cascadian Farms Dark chocolate granola. This usually fills me up pretty well and we ate a bit later than usual so we were hoping this and the popcorn we took would last us till dinner.

Around 11 am we started our hour long drive towards Detroit Zoo.

 The kids were so excited when we pointed the water tower to them. We met up with family and had a blast .

It was a beautiful day, we visited the butterfly house . We had a bit of fun with the statues and i finally was able to get a picture of my daughter smiling 🙂

I think we all thought the polar bear exhibit was the best. You could go in a tunnel and watch the bears and seals swim over you.

My camera battery died a bit later so I dont have pictures of dinner. we intended to go to a pizza place and when we got there the 15 of us couldn’t be seated because they were already expecting two parties of 40 😦 the place smelled awesome and the even had whole wheat (and gluten free) crust. Next time for sure. We ended up at Applebees where I ordered Dijon grilled chicken with portabellos. It was ok but i wish I ordered appetizers or something instead.

Sunday after church my husband and father in law grilled hamburgers and hot dogs for lunch.

My moter in law and sister in law didnt quite trust the guys so Nancy (mom in law) made potato salad and deviled eggs the night before and Pam (sis in law) wanted a veggie pizza so she started one. I talked her into at least letting Duane chop the veggies (under her supervision)

The pizza is pretty simple to make. I will get the directions from my mother in law and tell you later.

After a bit of shopping in the afternoon we headed over to some friends house for dinner/dessert. I didnt have any room left in me for pizza but when they brought out the angel food cake and strawberries I ended up eating again. It was Mothers Day and I feel like it was ok because technically it was “my” day. I will just kick it up a notch the rest of this week.

For exercise this weekend I walked four hours strait looking at animals and according to my tracker on Sparkpeople I burned about 580 calories.

I hope everyone had as great a weekend as I did, bye.

About withasideofbrownies

My name is Annette, I'm a married mom of four. I'm doing my best to learn to live and eat healthier and teach my family at the same time.

Leave a Reply

