RSS Feed

Honey bees and other random things

My husband said I received a compliment yesterday. Duane works as a maintenance tech for an assisted living community and yesterday he had to call in someone to fix the furnace and the guy told Duane he looked like he was in really good shape. At first I said how is that a compliment to me? Duane said if it wasn’t for me pushing the healthy living he probably wouldn’t be working out and eating right, so then he wouldn’t look as well as he does. Thank you honey 🙂

I kind of went on an eating binge over the weekend because of stress, you know the facial nerve twitching kind of stress that can only be cured by food but it’s what kind of food you cant figure out so you just eat everything. Yep it was that kind. The only exercise I got was on Friday mowing lawns, we only did two because of equipment problems. When we left work we stopped myMeijer on the way home and we discovered a new ketchup we had to have.

This new Heinz ketchup has no High fructose corn syrup nor does it have corn syrup, just sugar, had to try it. Now for those of you who say well other ketchups didnt have HFCS to start why didnt we just use them? It’s the Mr. picky thing again Duane (or the rest of his family) will not use anything but Heinz, and they can tell the difference too. Someone once tried to trick my BIL by putting some off brand in the Heinz bottle and he knew it wasnt right (I know, weird) so we tried the new stuff and to hubby’s relief tastes just like the regular stuff. we gad the ketchup with fries, salad, baked beans, and turkey brats.

I also made cookies

This a really easy recipe from one of my Gooseberry patch cookbooks recipe , you just need:

1 cake mix( whatever flavor you like)

1 beaten egg

1 tub of cool whip (I used low fat, counting calories you know 😉 )

1-3 C powdered sugar

mix cake mix and beaten egg, mix in cool whip. scoop out teaspoon size spoonfuls and roll in powdered sugar, place on ungreased cookie sheet bake at 350 degrees for 8-11 minutes.

On Sunday Duane duane brought home about 3,000 more “pets” for us to take care of.

Yes, those are Honey Bees

It was cold but we didnt want to leave them sitting in their cage to long so we went ahead with their install.

Are you wondering where his suit is? Or why I’m crazy enough to be this close without a suit myself?  We’ve done this once before, so we knew they wouldn’t give us much trouble given the fact that there is currently no honey to protect. Plus it was freezing outside, that helped. But keep in mind just because we did not get stung does not mean this is a good idea for everybody.

queen cage

Dumping them out

 Looks like fun huh?

Yesterday was the return of Meatless Monday (last week was I need to go grocery shopping Monday)

we had my quick veggie soup, find the recipe here , and grilled cheese sandwiches, half of which I overcooked because the pan was too hot, when I finally got it right Cedric told me that it wasn’t done and that they were supposed to be black, um honey no they’re not. Note to self pay better attention when making grilled cheese.

Yesterday was the start of the #fitblog plank challenge Luckily planks have been a part of my Sparkpeople workouts for a while so I was able to hold the position for a minute (I’ll show you picture of it someday when I do it not in my Jammies) I’m hoping to increase it to three minutes by the end of the challenge.

I’m off to get my house presentable, my Mary Kay rep is coming over to give me a facial later, luckily she’s one of my BFF’s so I’m not too worried about toys being all over the place 🙂 Plus I need to squeeze in a workout just in case I dont make it to the gym tonight.

If your interested you can “like” me on Facebook or “follow” me on Twitter, have a great day!

About withasideofbrownies

My name is Annette, I'm a married mom of four. I'm doing my best to learn to live and eat healthier and teach my family at the same time.

2 responses »

  1. I’m not going to lie, I’d have a heart attack if I were that close to that many bees at once. I’m thinking honey bee keeping isn’t for me. But I’m amazed at people who can do it so kudos to you guys! 🙂 Also, totally weird about the HEINZ ketchup thing, haha! But I guess all families have their quirks, right? 🙂

    Reply
  2. Sometimes I think getting husbands to eat healthy is harder than getting ourselves to do it! My husband is also a ketchup aficionado, and I just about fell off my chair when he came home with the HFCS-free version of his own accord!

    (Sorry, first comment had work email!)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

