RSS Feed

Birthday eats

Yesterday was my sons ninth birthday.

He doesn’t look anything like me does he? He doesn’t eat like me either, and he took me completely by surprise when I asked him what he wanted for his birthday dinner. I was expecting him to say pizza, or hotdogs, but instead he chose fish (not my first choice, that’s for sure)

Duane picked up some potato encrusted cod and some tortilla encrusted tilapia from the store last night and baked them in the oven. I made some baked potatoes and broccoli for our sides. We picked up three of each kind of fish and cut them in half so we each had a half of both kinds.

This is pretty much what everyones plate looked like, except my daughter who refuses to eat most vegetables. I’m not a fish person but I’m trying to set an example for my kids by being willing to try new things. only Cedric really liked the tortilla encrusted tilapia. I was bad and ate my fish int he biggest bites possible just to get it over with. I dont know whats wrong with me, it doesn’t taste bad, I just can’t get past the whole it’s fish thing.

For dessert we went around the corner to my mother in laws house and had cake and ice cream.

It was chocolate cake with a chocolate glaze. This was just a tiny get together, his real party with his friends will be in a couple of weeks.

It’s hard to believe my baby is nine already.

Happy Birthday, Damian!

About withasideofbrownies

My name is Annette, I'm a married mom of four. I'm doing my best to learn to live and eat healthier and teach my family at the same time.

2 responses »

  1. Oooh all that food looks great.. and happy birthday to your little boy! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

