RSS Feed

Farm fresh

I grew up in Flint, MI, everything I ate came from the local grocery store. When I was 19 I met this little country boy and fell in love.  Somehow 13  years later I’m living in the country with two beehives and five chickens that walk around my yard squawking and pooping everywhere (yes I said poop) Now like I said yesterday we got our very first egg. We buy Egglands Best so I thought the eggs we’ve been buying were pretty good, till today.

Well I was going to show you a picture of said egg but the computer keeps giving me an error, boo 😦 Anyways the five of us who were up split the egg (the teenager refused to get out of bed) and I can tell you I don’t ever want to eat a store bought egg again, it was that good. sadly there was only one at the time , she’s since laid another one. I hope the other four hurry up and start laying so we don’t have a six way fight for who gets the good egg every day 🙂

Today I went to work with Duane and helped him clean out a garage I tracked it as heavy cleaning for about 80 minutes and burned 361 calories.

Later I wanted to go for a walk so i went two miles just down the road and back. I walked the first mile and once I turned around I figured I’d better hurry because it was getting dark (dirt road, no street lights)so I decided to jog a bit. I went as fast as not wearing a sports bra would allow (sorry guys). I think I did pretty good, my tracker says I went on average of 18 minutes per mile and burned 134 calories. Getting a good workout in always makes me feel good about myself.

I'm an overly friendly chicken

Now the picture thingy works (yes thingy is a technical word) I’ll leave you all tonight with a picture of my wonder egg laying chick, goodnight.

 

 

 

 

 

 

About withasideofbrownies

My name is Annette, I'm a married mom of four. I'm doing my best to learn to live and eat healthier and teach my family at the same time.

Leave a Reply

