RSS Feed

Confession, and an experiment of sorts

First I just want to say I love WiFi, I want to move back to the city just so I can high-speed internet again. Ok, let’s get on with this.

I’m sure everyone remembers the pictures about a month ago with the pink slime and how McD’s uses this mechanically separated chicken in their food, well I shared that picture on Facebook. One person replied that people have been eating it for years and it ” hasn’t hurt anybody yet”. That statement saddened me because that mentality is hurting people more than it should. With that I decided to let you all on  a little (big) secret.

I haven’t uttered these words out loud to anyone but my husband, and I’m sure for some people it wont come as a surprise but… I have gained all the weight I lost back.

So now the cats out of the bag, the wannabe healthy living blogger blew it, but I’m not giving up and I’m going to share why I think that eating bad has hurt us in more ways than we might think.

This is me in 2005, maybe about a year before I started my healthy living/weight loss journey

150 pounds

I wasn’t exercising, I was tired all the time, I couldn’t eat anything spicy without my chest catching fire, and (sorry guys) my cycle was so irregular I never knew when Aunt Flow was coming. I enjoyed eating instead of cooking (who doesn’t, right?). I was sick, I may not have realized it at the time but my body was miserable and it was because of what I was putting into it.

In 2009 I found Sparkpeople and i discovered eating “real” good for you food isn’t as bad as it sounds. I lost some weight but it wasnt until I threw in exercise that the weight and inches began to come off.

Yep, laundry day and I'm wearing Duanes shorts

I felt so good, I no longer needed the heartburn pills, I had tons of energy, and that sneaky Aunt Flow, I saw her coming from a mile away.

I went on hikes with my family, and everyone was happy.

Last year things started to fall apart a bit, I was exercising less and eating out more. I started spending time with someone who’s health wasn’t really a priority. Instead of sharing what I knew, I fell into bad habits myself.

That is the experiment, with myself as the unwilling control subject. I know that the bad foods hurt you, i know not being physical hurts you. so now I’m going to try harder than ever to get back what I lost because I like the healthier, energetic me better.

 

About withasideofbrownies

My name is Annette, I'm a married mom of four. I'm doing my best to learn to live and eat healthier and teach my family at the same time.

Leave a Reply

