RSS Feed

Stronger than you think

I know what your thinking, your thinking why is she showing us this tiny picture of a pile of wood, am I right?

This tiny little pile of wood has so much meaning to me right now. This pile of split fire wood rocks, it rocks because I made it.

We live in a rural area that doesn’t have natural gas available to it so we have to buy propane. Propane is expensive so we have a tiny wood burning stove to warm the house throughout the day.

Max cat

 

A few years ago Duane hurt his back and couldn’t chop wood, I thought I would lend a hand and do it myself. That didn’t happen, I don’t think I so much as dented the wood that day. We had to call my father in law to come help out. from that point on my thoughts were I can’t do it, it’s too hard.

Fast forward to Monday morning, we don’t have any propane just yet because we’re cheap like that so the stove must keep going right now. We woke up and realized we had not registered for our winter classes yet. We took care of that, He got ready for work, I put the boys on their bus. then Duane told me I would have to chop the wood myself so Vicky wouldn’t be late for school (we drive her right now).

I know, I should have been mad and those I can’t thoughts should have popped up because that happens sometimes, right? Well they didn’t, I got dressed and went outside armed with the knowledge that I’ve been working hard with strength training so there was a chance I could do this.

First swing I knocked the log off the chopping block then with the next swing nothing happened. I decided to grab a different log and with that one the maul stuck, with the next swing it broke! I kept going until I had a nice little pile I hoped would last until Duane came home.

Those I can’t thoughts by all rights should have been there. I am overweight , I cant run more than two minutes without getting winded, and I lack motivation. But I did not let that stop me.

It is an amazing feeling when you realize everything you have been working for is actually starting to take shape. I was giddy from this all day Monday.

It is simply amazing what we can accomplish when we set our minds to it!

Whats your best stronger than you think moment?

 

 

 

About withasideofbrownies

My name is Annette, I'm a married mom of four. I'm doing my best to learn to live and eat healthier and teach my family at the same time.

Leave a Reply

